• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DennisCA

I am finishing up a stock using one part tung oil and one part mineral spirits.
    Before I reassemble it, do I put anything on the stock as top coat or am I'm GTG?

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    I may be talking through my arse but, if the finish feels dry, give it a good buffing and you should be GTG. I'd give it over night.

Crab Bait

Ultimate Member
    Mar 2, 2011
    Pasadena
    I'd say GTG. But I'm no expert.

You are doing multiple coats and sanding with really really fine grit sandpaper between, right? I used 600 grit if memory serves.

Neutron

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 20, 2014
    severna park
    Why are you cutting the tung oil with minerial spirits? Pure tung oil should be fine. Several coats with a light sanding in between coats should be fine.

Threeband

The M1 Does My Talking
    Dec 30, 2006
    Carroll County
    I would give it multiple coats of tung oil.

"Once a day for a week, once a week for a month, once a month for a year, once a year forever." After a few coats, you can use it straight, without the mineral spirits.

I confess, I've never actually put that many coats on. But do give it 6 or 8 anyway.

Just a little bit, rubbed in briskly.

Threeband

The M1 Does My Talking
    Dec 30, 2006
    Carroll County
    Why are you cutting the tung oil with minerial spirits? Pure tung oil should be fine. Several coats with a light sanding in between coats should be fine.

Thinning the oil helps the first few coats penetrate.