• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • strat56

Feb 23, 2017
    I'm new at reloading and made a rookie mistake. I primed 10 pieces of 9mm brass before I sized them. I figured this out after I charged them all and tried to seat a bullet in one of them and the bullet practically fell all the way into the case!!

Now the question, is it safe to size the cases with the primers in them or is there a way to deprime them without setting off the primers or should I just crush the cases and dispose of them?

In case it matters I have a Lee Hand Press and I'm using a Lee 4 die pistol set.

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    You can size them with the primers in place.

Just remove the de-priming pin first.

They won't go KA-BOOM if that's your worry.

j8064

Garrett Co Hooligan #1
    Feb 23, 2008
    Deep Creek
    I'm new at reloading and made a rookie mistake. I primed 10 pieces of 9mm brass before I sized them. I figured this out after I charged them all and tried to seat a bullet in one of them and the bullet practically fell all the way into the case!!

Now the question, is it safe to size the cases with the primers in them or is there a way to deprime them without setting off the primers or should I just crush the cases and dispose of them?

In case it matters I have a Lee Hand Press and I'm using a Lee 4 die pistol set.

Never loaded rounds with a Lee hand press, but the fundamentals are the same. If you are using a single stage press, gently decapping the cases with your FL sizing die shouldn't be a major issue. Most reloaders have pulled live primers from cases and reused them. I have more times than I can remember - and I've never set off a primer on a press in 30+ years.