• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lazarus

Ultimate Member
    Jun 23, 2015
    So I am pretty brand new to reloading.

I need opinions on my 38spc load.

158gr Missouri coated LSWC bullet

I loaded it with 3.4gr of Bullseye. For 158gr LSWC Hornady's manual says 3.7gr max load, 850fps (800fps with a 3.4gr load). Alliant is telling me 3.5gr max load, 800fps.

Hornady says 4" barrel S&W something or other, Alliant doesn't tell you test barrel or platform.

My platform is a SIX inch Colt Official Police.

I loaded 3.4gr of Bullseye thinking that would be fine. Not max load, not super light. I was VERY careful in measuring the charges for all 12 rounds. I got 824fps with an SD of 14fps across the 12 shot string.

Now from what I've seen which revolver platform you are using matters a TON. Or at least my net ninja research seems to tell me that seeing a difference of >50fps between revolvers with the exact same barrel length and cartridge.

I know on a low pressure load, there are no pressure signs unless I am like double charging it or something.

Thoughts? I think it is safe. I feel like its good. But I guess I am being thrown by the velocity thinking it would be more like 750-780fps.

I guess I could load it to 3.3gr rather than 3.4gr. I don't want a cowboy action load, but I don't much mind if its a tiny bit less. To add my additional thinking, one of my next purchases I am hoping is a .357 lever gun and I'd prefer not to load up a ton of 38spc to pud velocities that aren't going to make it out of the rifle barrel because its loaded too light.

Thoughts?

PowPow

Where's the beef?
    Nov 22, 2012
    Howard County