• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • brianrose

May 2, 2009
    In the 1k price point- WW ar15 with carry handle and fixed front vs Bushmaster with no sights. Are these basically the same gun? I have seen rumblings of Bushmaster quality not being where it used to be. Thoughts?

Flipz

Ultimate Member
    Mar 11, 2010
    Personally, I think the Windham's are nicer. Dont know why but I've never been a fan of the Bushy's.

Silverlode

Ultimate Member
    Aug 16, 2010
    Frederick
    I think by all accounts, Bushmaster isn't what they used to be. I have a couple of old Bushmaster rifles that are great. I also have a Windham HBAR I picked up last fall and it is solid. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another one.

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    With the WW add mags and ammo and go to range.
    With bushy you need to decide on sights plastic vs. steel, fixed vs. folding etc. And then you have to buy and wait for them to arrive then install.
    The WW will be less expensive in the end.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    After Rem (Freedom Group) bought Bushmaster , they eventually shifted production to their NC facility , and shuttered the Maine plant, and sold it as surplus. The origional owner of Bushmaster bought back the facility.

The day that his noncompete clause expired , he reopened under the Windham name , using many of the origional employees.

balttigger

Ultimate Member
    Oct 15, 2008
    Middle River, MD
    I picked up an original Bushy on the cheap because it's original owner was having "problems" with it. I gave it a really good cleaning and haven't had a lick of trouble with it since. Out of sheer principle I would go with a Windham over a new Bushmaster.

brianrose