• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Frostburg

Jan 1, 2015
    So I have a rather unique situation. I am a former resident of Maryland, but am a current resident of Washington, D.C. My girlfriend is a resident of Maryland and that is where her apartment is located.

I want to bring my 12 ga shotgun, and leave it at her apartment for the purpose of defending her apartment should the need arise. Since I do not wish to go through the extensive hoops to get a registration to keep my shotgun at my apartment in D.C., I will keep it at her apartment. While there, she will not have access to the weapon as it will be fitted with an Omega breech lock, of which only I will have the key. This is upon her request.

While visiting her apartment, I would utilize the shotgun in defense of the apartment should the need arise. Since I possess a D.C. driver's license, and am not on the lease at her apartment, even though I might stay there for several nights at a time, would I be in any legal trouble in using the shotgun in self defense while staying there? Is there any legal issue in keeping the shotgun there while I am in D.C.?

Sorry for the silly question, but I want to avoid any potential issues where either of us could get into any legal trouble.

danb

dont be a dumbass
    Feb 24, 2013
    google is your friend, I am not.
    ok, so first, as a DC resident, how exactly did you come to own it without registering it (I am not clear on DC registration requirements). But that will be your first problem. Arent you required to register it as a resident when you become a resident?

Second, I don't think "Omega breech lock" is sufficient to avoid constructive possession. Is your girlfriend a prohibited person?

Frostburg

Jan 1, 2015