• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Shore88

Dec 20, 2020
    Eastern Shore
    Hypothetical - If someone were to move here from out of state, and not register their guns because they either didn’t know the law at the time, or just never bothered with it, is there a penalty for registering late? Like two years late. Asking for a friend, I’m a lifelong resident.

rseymorejr

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 28, 2011
    Harford County
    Interesting question. How does the state expect the poor saps that are moving here to even know about that ********? Aside from MD Shooters members I'd be willing to bet that 90% of lifelong Maryland residents have no clue about it.

lazarus

Ultimate Member
    Jun 23, 2015
    That would be a violation of the law.

If I were a betting man, I doubt MSP would kick it to the DA to try to prosecute someone for voluntarily registering if you were past the deadline.

Now getting caught not having registered, I’d imagine they would.

Seems like a “consult a lawyer” type situation IMHO.

As for the in general, it is incumbent upon an individual to know the laws where they live. But specifically, I think most folks with a room temperature IQ know that gun laws vary state to state and would try to do some research of the laws of the state they are moving to if they owned guns. Is there registration. Can I legally own my gun there. What are transport/carry laws in the state. Etc. doesn’t mean you won’t get hemmed up and miss something. But some of the stuff is pretty easy to find with just a couple minutes of research.

Heck you’ve gotta learn other things like “how do I register my car” in your new state.

Shore88

Dec 20, 2020
    Eastern Shore