• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • -Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    Ok so my panic buy was an AK kit. Polish Underfolder. I've never done this before and have questions. Please excuse me if I ask something stupid; using google got me conflicting answers.

1. Flat or Bent Blank? I want to do an 80% build for slightly obvious reasons. Should I get a pre-drilled flat or pre-bent that needs cutting/drilling? I have no jigs and no press, but I do have a drill press. I want to take the easiest route without spending a bunch on tools. Doesn't need to be pretty, just functional and reliable.

2. 922r Parts I'm getting a US barrel, the receiver will be US, and I plan a Tapco FCG and slant brake. That's 6 parts, enough right?

3. Seeking help What can and can't I get help with since I'm doing an 80%? Can I have someone headspace the barrel for me? Can I get the receiver coated/painted by a pro? Can I seek help in welding the rails?

-Thanks

armed ferret

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Sep 23, 2008
    McDoogal's
    a pre-bent and drilled one would be better...get rivits as well...some parts kits need a jig to remove the old rivets from the parts kit.

pre-bent AND drilled requires an FFL because that's a receiver. not an 80%. if you want to build off a flat, get an ak-builder flat and his bending jig. there's nothing that surpasses (or frankly even equals) his gear on the market.

as for halps, if you can wait till spring, i can halps. :) don't have a flat bending jig, and don't have the spot welder or appropriate tong (ak-builder offers one). barrel press, rivets, heat treating, finishing, etc. i can help with though.