• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • todbiker

Ultimate Member
    Feb 11, 2012
    Laurel, Maryland
    So I've picked up a few solvents/ lubricants over the years, trying to find what works best. Been shooting some corrosive lately, so Ballistol diluted with water is my choice. I have a few cleaning rods and caliber specific jags. I seem to spend a lot of time and jag patches to get the bore clean.

Some of the bore cleaners used have been Wipe-out, sweets, ballistol airesol and ballistol dilluted with water.

What are your experiences?

rico903

Ultimate Member
    May 2, 2011
    OP-you have a good selection and don't forget good old fashioned Hoppes. There are a ton of over priced miracle cleaners out there but the tried and true work just fine.

toolness1

Ultimate Member
    Jan 5, 2014
    BFE, Missouri
    I've been doing this for the last 4 years every time I shoot corrosive ammo, and have never seen a speck of rust as a result:

At range while gun is still hot, rinse bore with windex (I use a funnel)

Let it air dry while you shoot the next gun, then run a CLP soaked bore snake thru it

When I get home, I flush it with the Ballistol/Water, then clean the hell out of it with Eezox. Dry bore completely, then give another small coat of eezox before putting away.

If the copper fouling gets real bad, I will run a copper solvent thru it, then eezox it again before I put it up.

I have a huge collection of cleaners and oils/rust preventatives. Once I tried Eezox, I never touch 90% of the rest of the stuff I own.

It is great!