• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SoMD_Gen4

Apr 16, 2013
    SoMD
    MDShooters-

Shotgun newbie here, looking for some advice/lessons learned. I am looking to buy my first shotgun which will be multi-purpose. I anticipate the occasional skeet/clay target shooting, and most likely home defense.

I like the look of the tactical shotguns, but admittedly haven't shot one, so I don't know if it's practical. I definitely like the idea of it holding multiple rounds.

12ga or 20ga?

Recommended Length? (I'd assume long for target, shorter for HD, but what's the average if your looking to use it for both?)

Difference in ammo for target shooting vs home defense?

Guess I should add I own my own home, not in an apartment complex or anything with thin walls, so that's not necessarily a worry.

My price range is likely $500 or less

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    Buy a Remington 870.
    It's that simple. You can swap barrels out between a longer field barrel for trap/skeet(26-28") and a shorter barrel for home defense(18-20"). You can pick up a new 870 Express and a second barrel in or close to your budget.

Oh and go with a 12ga.

sxs

MDS Supporter
    Nov 20, 2009
    Anne Arundel County, MD
    Some ranges ban use of tactical shotguns for clays shooting (usually because of short barrels). Pump action non-tactical shotguns can usually hold from 5 - 6 rounds, tacticals can sometimes hold a few more.