• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • toolness1

Ultimate Member
    Jan 5, 2014
    BFE, Missouri
    I was shooting my No.1 Mk III a few weeks ago and this chunk broke off the stock.

I tried degreasing the wood and using JB Weld wood glue, but it broke off after a few shots.

I am guessing I'm gonna have to use some brass rod or wood dowels, but I am new to stock repair and don't know the best way to go about doing so.

I am not sure what the best way is to make the holes for the brass screw/rod or wood dowel.

The top of this piece is angled, so drilling is going to be pretty tricky.

I would love some suggestions on how to fix this.

I searched around on the net and found a picture of another stock where there were two brass screws or pins holding an identical crack in place, but I don't know how the heck they did it.

The only idea I had was to put the piece in place, and drill down through it and into the stock with a very small drill bit, then use bits of increasing size to get the holes big enough for the brass rod or screw, or wood dowel.

I think if I use a small enough bit, I could get a bite in it even at that angle, but it wouldn't be easy.

I do have a drill press so I can probably clamp the rifle in place and hold that broken chunk in place while I drill it.

Thanks for any help!

Attachments

• back view.jpg
      back view.jpg
      67.1 KB · Views: 658
    • side in place.jpg
      side in place.jpg
      87 KB · Views: 705
    • side no piece.jpg
      side no piece.jpg
      87.8 KB · Views: 706
    • top view.jpg
      top view.jpg
      77.8 KB · Views: 706

j8064

Garrett Co Hooligan #1
    Feb 23, 2008
    Deep Creek
    toolness1,

Either "dowel" method 303_enfield and iH8DemLibz suggest to reinforce the repair will work well. They are the similar methods, but slightly different.