• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • andy41567

Oct 1, 2018
    So I bought my first ar15 and I got just an entry level Stag Arms 15 m4. I was looking to do just a little upgrading to it, like the grip, the charging handle and any other suggestions you guys with more experience may have. I am not a professional shooter and not looking to break the bank. I am very new to the platform so I would just like a little help. I don't know what fits and what doesn't. Thanks.

smokey

2A TEACHER
    Jan 31, 2008
    Toss a picture up so we can see what you're working with. Probably the best advice is to first invest in training/range time. You can specialize an AR towards many different directions with different parts. As you shoot it more, you'll better be able to identify shortcomings of what you have, and then look for a part that better meets your needs.

Otherwise, you'll probably end up spending a lot more money by buying parts, using them, and then replacing them with something that better suits your needs down the road.

Look at the raptor charging handle, a geisele trigger of some kind, free float rail of some kind, and optic of some kind as common "upgrades". A sling(2 point are great, I like the magpul 2 to 1, but Vickers slings are solid too) and a weaponlight are also good additions.

andy41567

Oct 1, 2018
    OK thank you. I have put 500 rounds down range of 5.56 the day I got it trying to use the open sights and adjust them. Off of another recommendation I ordered a cheap red dot optic from Field sport hoping I will have better lunch with that shight.
    Here is a pic of what I am working with.

Attachments

• 20181006_182642.jpg
      20181006_182642.jpg
      111.2 KB · Views: 442

omegared24

Ultimate Member