AR "newbie" - Why so many AR pics w/safety on "Fire" ?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • AlBeight

MDS Supporter
    Mar 30, 2017
    Hampstead
    I'm rather new to the AR collecting / modding game. Shot them a bunch in the past but didn't own. Now I've bought 3 in last 5 months, and I'm really showing restraint to not have grabbed more. Soon though...

Like most of you I enjoy reading about them, checking out deals on them, and seeing pics of mods that people have made, tried, etc... One thing I've come to notice is that in probably 75-80% or better of the pics you see online (including many on this website) and even in print magazines the safety selector is set to "F" or "fire" on the weapon. Didn't somebody once say, "75% of the time it happens all the time" ?

I digress. Did I skip a class or something that this is "a thing" that folks do on purpose for some reason when photographing their AR's? If I only noticed a couple out of the literally thousands of images I've viewed I'd most likely write it off as the photographer just being forgetful or absent-minded. I just see that the overwhelming majority of pics have this condition, too many for them to all have been accidental.

Is this a cool thing? An "I'll show you, Big Government" thing? I enjoy a little bit of "tacti-coolness" as much as the next guy, but this seems kinda odd to me.