• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fox123

Ultimate Member
    May 21, 2012
    Rosedale, MD
    I know the laws pertaining to home builds can't pay anyone etc. But what about after you are finished and you have a functioning firearm. Can (or will) a gunsmith be able to do mods like trigger job, match barrel etc. To make it better?

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    I don't see why not - but, I am not a lawyer, so don't bet on that answer.

Of course, if your going to build it at home, why not just start with a nice trigger group and a good barrel in the first place??

Fox123

Ultimate Member
    May 21, 2012
    Rosedale, MD
    Not a future build. Existing, want to change. As far as I could find as long as it is not a frame or receiver work then should be legal but wanted to find general opinion here.

gruntz03

Jan 6, 2009
    Lusby
    When I was done building my AR, I took it to a gunsmith to have him look it over to make sure it wouldnt blow up. He did a small repair for me and I paid him. Nothing hush hush about it. Safety first!

clandestine

AR-15 Savant
    Oct 13, 2008
    Elkton, MD
    Gunsmiths have to maintain a a Gunsmith Log Book for anything taken in that is considered a Firearm. There is a common misconception that an AR on a SPikes Striped Lower is a home build. Its not. A Home build would be someone who bent an AK receiver Flat, or Machined an 80% AR lower into a funstioning firearm.

If there is no identifying marks on the firearm then I dont see how any serious Gunsmith is going to put their name on the line by not making a Log Enrty on a Home Build with no Manufacturers Marks on the Firearm.