Go Back   Maryland Shooters > Gun Rights and Legislation > National 2A Issues

Notices

Old September 13th, 2017, 09:00 AM #1

Legal clarification - 80% lower

I'm just a hobby machinist and have a mini mill and mini lathe in my basement. It's a hobby only and I don't make any money from them.

After reading letter 11711 from BATFE, I'm not sure if a friend can come over and use my mini mill for free for an 80% lower or not. While the letter does say "in the business", but I'm not sure how that's being applied.

Has anyone asked BATFE for clarification on this?

https://www.atf.gov/file/11711/download
Zoltan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2017, 09:27 AM #2
When All Else Fails.

When All Else Fails.

If they're strictly manual machines and you go out to lunch and then to a movie, so there's zero input from you, I think he/you are safe as he's just using your tools to complete a lower.

IANA80%L
iH8DemLibz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2017, 11:19 AM #3
2013'er

2013'er

Quote:
Originally Posted by iH8DemLibz View Post
If they're strictly manual machines and you go out to lunch and then to a movie, so there's zero input from you, I think he/you are safe as he's just using your tools to complete a lower.

IANA80%L
This is my understanding as well. It's not illegal for a friend to borrow a tool, as long as the friend is the only one doing the work. You cannot set up a CNC machine, then tell the friend to load in an 80% lower and hit a button to begin the automatic milling of it.

NRA Lifetime Member
MSI, SAF Member
U.S. Navy Vet, Oath Keeper
CrazySanMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2017, 03:35 PM #4
Huckleberry Dillinger

Huckleberry Dillinger