• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014
    Truth be told, i'm new to OCW still. BUT... is my assumption too far off that an OCW would have a good/decent standard deviation?

I did an OCW set for 22-250 using 4064 powder. Ended up with 3 sub moa groups that were also very similar POI. I picked the middle of the 3 charge sets and loaded 10 rounds. Shot those thru a chronograph and got a SD of 61?!

That seems high to me for an OCW... compared to my 300 win mag OCW load (4350) my SD is only 12 if i recall correctly.

I guess there's really two questions i'm looking for answers/info on.

1.a is 61 what you would consider an acceptable SD, assuming its also an OCW?
    1.b if not what do you consider a good "range" of tolerable SD?

Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014
    This.. was the "meme" i was looking for.. because memes are all the hype... or something.

how-much-does-muzzle-velocity-standard-deviation-sd-matter21.png

Uncle Duke

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2013
    Not Far Enough from the City
    Standard deviation of 61 over 10 rounds is what I think you're saying? 20 rounds would be more telling, but even with a sample size of 10 rounds, I'd be thinking that indications are that something is likely amiss.

I personally love 4064 in .22-250. Initial thought would be that I am inclined to doubt you have a powder related problem.

I assume you're weighing your charges? If so, my next question would be what you're using for brass?

Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014