Light Primer Strike/Failure to Fire on Savage Axis?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Derwood

Ultimate Member
    Jun 2, 2011
    DC area
    Hello,

My Savage Axis 30-06 has stopped firing reliably. I think it is due to light primer strikes, but I'm really no expert in this. I have tried several different ammo varieties to rule that out. I don't have easy access to a rifle range, so I have only shot ~300 rounds since buying it two years ago. I had no trouble at all for those 300 rounds, then last year at the end of the deer firearms season I finally had a nice whitetail in my sights and *CLICK*

I figured my ammo had just gotten wet or something, but when I finally got the rifle out to a range again in August I found it would only fire about 30% of the time. When it doesn't fire there is a dimple on the brass, but no bang.

I always clean and lubricate my firearms after using them. Last year before the hunting season I fully disassembled the bolt for the first time and cleaned all of the parts. I was careful to leave only a very light coating of oil (Ballistol) on the various parts. The bolt is not loose or anything while in the closed position.

I have contacted Savage but haven't heard back yet. I did some Googling and this seems to be a fairly common issue, but I haven't found a clear resolution yet. I also tried searching this site since this is probably a common issue here too, but didn't find a thread on this.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.

TL;DR

Rifle: Savage Axis 30-06 Bolt Action (manufactured 2011)