• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Turbo2Point4

Feb 19, 2012
    Just looking for opinions on their new ar, as i've been thinking about picking one up. just wondering about the 2 things not included on the rifle and how important they really are as i'm kinda new to guns, the 2 things i'm wondering about is the dust cover and forward assist... is it really needed? also overall opinion of the rifle itself.

MDMOUNTAINEER

Glock, AR, Savage Junkie
    Mar 4, 2009
    West Virginia
    Just looking for opinions on their new ar, as i've been thinking about picking one up. just wondering about the 2 things not included on the rifle and how important they really are as i'm kinda new to guns, the 2 things i'm wondering about is the dust cover and forward assist... is it really needed? also overall opinion of the rifle itself.

For not much more money I'd get something chrome-lined (in my opinion this is the biggest drawback to this product). You can build a better rifle yourself for the same price as a ready-made MP-15 Sport. I personally do think the forward assist and dust-cover are worth it. I've rarely had to use my forward assist (like count on my hand rarely), and if it's just filling a range duty role the FA isn't a big deal, same goes for the dust cover. If you ever plan on carrying it around the woods or riding around on a 4-wheeler with your rifle slung over your back like I do, the dust-cover is invaluable. Just my humble opinion.

Apr 15, 2011
    MoCo