• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shershot99

Mar 22, 2010
    Carroll County
    Has anyone looked into/heard of the Polymer80 Spectre 80% pistol frame? Am I right that this would be 100% legal to purchase, finish, shoot and posses in Maryland under current laws? I am VERY new to the 80% world and just looking for some guidance. My understanding is that since it would be for personal use and never sold it would not need a serial number and therefore not need a shell casing and therefore no HQL. Am I correct?

Thanks All!

:party29:

ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA
    Yes

Shell casing requirement was repealed last year, and that went into effect 10/1/2015.

HQL is to purchase a non-exempt handgun. This is not a "handgun."

Neither state nor federal law require a serial number on a home built, non-NFA firearm.

Fox123

Ultimate Member
    May 21, 2012
    Rosedale, MD
    Look for threads related to a company stealth arms. They were mildly popular in their 80% 1911 frame that some members built here. The same rules and laws apply to that product.

iCoder80

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Dec 31, 2015
    I am currently building a Stealth Arms 80% 1911. Out of the box it is little more than a fancy shaped paperweight.

My understanding is that no serial number is needed. It is suggested that you do stamp/etch an identifying mark in the event your paperweight is stolen.

As stated, there are a couple of good build threads in the handgun forum. There are also a couple decent youTube videos.

george g.

Jan 11, 2009
    Edgemere
    You'll end up spending more to build the polymer 80, than just buying a new glock.I guess it's worth it to someone who wants a pistol without a hql.

Sharpeneddark

Ultimate Member
    Mar 20, 2013
    Westminster