• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CMOS

One ragged donut hole
    Nov 13, 2009
    MoCo
    I turned my prints and forms in to Reistertown about a week ago and got the letter today saying that my background is clear. Anyone know about how long between getting that letter and getting my prints and forms back?
    Thx!

CKOD

Jan 30, 2009
    you got a letter seperate? Weird, it took me a month to get my paperwork back, and it was all together. I cant really remember if the letter was there or not since it doesnt matter, but it probably was.

K-Romulus

Suburban Commando
    Mar 15, 2007
    NE MoCO
    Weird . . in September I got BOTH the letter and the forms back in the same envelope about two weeks after dropping them off.

CMOS

One ragged donut hole
    Nov 13, 2009
    MoCo
    Well, I called the MDSP. They said that CJIS often sends out two letters, one to the "customer" and one to Firearms Registration, even though they are not supposed to send out the customer letter.

I just hope that means my prints were ok. Presumably, Registration wouldn't bother to request background form CJIS if the prints were bad, but who knows....

Kharn

Ultimate Member
    Mar 9, 2008
    Hazzard County
    If you get a CJIS letter always call the Handgun Division to ask if they received their copy, sometimes CJIS forgets to CC them.

honda53s

Ultimate Member
    May 4, 2009
    Baltimore County
    I have a question...Once you turn in your prints and you get all of your papers back...Once you get the clearance can you buy a class 3 weapon or suppressor every 30 days?

CMOS

One ragged donut hole
    Nov 13, 2009
    MoCo
    I have a question...Once you turn in your prints and you get all of your papers back...Once you get the clearance can you buy a class 3 weapon or suppressor every 30 days?