• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cobra

Ultimate Member
    Feb 26, 2009
    White Marsh
    I Have a Bushmaster AR.
    Has the carry handle iron sights that I since removed then mounted a red dot sight in it's place.
    Now I want to mount a Nikon M223 scope.
    Problem is I don't want the fixed front sight in the scopes veiw.
    Prefer not to raise the scope so front sight is not in the picture.

Whats involved in replaceing the front sight post.
    Can it be replaced with a flip up type front sight?
    Are there other options other then grinding off the front sight?
    I understand this sight is also needed to connect the gas tube. Just not sure what my options are.:)

wilcam47

Ultimate Member
    Apr 4, 2008
    Changed zip code
    im sure you could redneck it and grind it off...the right way to do it is punch out the pins and install a flat top front gas block. you have to get the right one for that particular set up though...

303_enfield

Ultimate Member
    May 30, 2007
    DelMarVa
    If you have a fixed carry handle stop wasting your time. Your cheek weld will suck! Get a flat top and change over your barrel or get another complete upper.

Front sight will be a ghost, ie: a none issue. Try it.

My 2¢

rj1974

Ultimate Member
    Jan 31, 2011
    Edgemere , md.
    I have a Nikon M223 on my Colt HBAR the front sight will not be a issue . Mount it and go make holes in things :thumbsup:

Attachments

• 006.jpg
      006.jpg
      79.9 KB · Views: 250

Russ D

Ultimate Member
    Nov 10, 2008
    Sykesville
    I doubt you will see the front sight post. If you get the 1-4x M223 you may see it slightly but it most likely won't be an issue.

I Have a Bushmaster AR.
    Has the carry handle iron sights that I since removed then mounted a red dot sight in it's place.
    Now I want to mount a Nikon M223 scope.