• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Robmyaing

Dec 6, 2016
    Gaithersburg
    I just started shooting about seven months ago. Please let me know what you think, level of accuracy an average shooter like me should reasonably expect to attain - Hit a Target (Size ?) consistently from what Distance? with a semi automatic 9mm pistol - after 1 year of weekly visits to the range - 50 to 100 rounds per visit and about 1 hour of dry fire practice at home. I saw this on the Internet and would like your thoughts on reasonableness of the goals outlined. Thanks for all your input.

Level 1 All 5 shots hit a 3 X 5 index card at 3 Yards

Level 2 All 5 shots hit a 3 X 5 index card at 5 Yards

Level 3 All 5 shots hit a Paper Plate at 7 Yards

Level 4 All 5 shots hit a Paper Plate at 10 Yards

Level 5 All 5 shots hit a Paper Plate at 15 Yards

Last edited:

knastera

Just another shooter
    May 6, 2013
    Baltimore County
    Those are decent standards. Don't forget to include things like shooting one handed, off handed, double tap, and natural point of aim. People spend the vast majority of their time shooting two handed, strong side, in their favorite stance. If you plan on being able to defend yourself, you should practice variations too.
    I personally shoot B-27 targets. You can substitute the 10 ring for the index card. My personal standard is head shots on a B-27 at 15 to 20 yards, about the same size as a paper plate.

I was trained with Combat Pistol. The concept is that your target is shooting back- so shoot quickly. On a B-27 target, anything in the 8,9,10 or X ring is considered a bullseye.