Maryland Shooters

Maryland Shooters (
-   Maryland 2A Issues (
-   -   HQL traing exemption question. (

Michigander08 July 30th, 2017 04:19 PM

HQL traing exemption question.
Is Utah CCW course considered firearm training exemption for MD? I am thinking of doing Utah CCW class.

knastera July 30th, 2017 04:30 PM

No, but if you already own a regulated firearm (i.e., a handgun), have completed a hunter safety course, are LEO, or are former military, you are training exempt. If none of those apply to you, several of the IPs on MDS offer Utah as an add on to HQL. I teach at IP Tyler Firearms/Arimus Training and they offer it as an add-on for $50 (

Michigander08 July 30th, 2017 04:42 PM

"but if you already own a regulated firearm". Yes, I do but my situation is different. I moved to Maryland from Michigan back in 2008. I did not have to register my handguns. If I claim exemption now, they have no record of that since the handguns are registered in Michigan back in 2000. Would that work and do I have to prove that I can have exemption?

knastera July 30th, 2017 04:43 PM

Yes, provide the serial number of the firearm.

Michigander08 July 30th, 2017 04:45 PM

Wish I can claim exemption on my ROTC training. I was in it for 2 years in college.

Mini14tac July 30th, 2017 05:40 PM

Just buy a stripped AR15 lower. No HQL needed. Once it has been transferred to you it can be use as the exemption.

swinokur July 30th, 2017 05:58 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Th MD statute doesn't limit the exemption to MD purchased firearm. it simply states "owns a regulated firearm."

The online app simply asks for make and serial number. You are GTG.

See statute 5-117.1

Biggfoot44 July 30th, 2017 07:44 PM

Is post #3 asking would it be accepted by MSP ? Or stating that he did not care to volunteer that information ?

Michigander08 July 30th, 2017 09:45 PM

I don't want to volunteer the information. However, Mini14Tac alerted me to the best choice. Thank you all!

Threeband July 30th, 2017 09:55 PM

You could also buy a C&R eligible handgun (all such are HQL exempt), and provide its serial number as the "regulated firearm" you already own.

Any handgun at least 50 years old is eligible, as well as a few newer ones.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2019, Congregate Media, LP