• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • offroaD

Jun 1, 2011
    I'm posting this for clarity, because it's created a bit of confusion for me

The knife in question is a Gerben Instant.

I was under the impression that switch blade knives were illegal while pocket knifes were not, when it came to concealing them. I saw a post on here where someone said it's also okay to to conceal spring assisted. I'm not a lawyer so bear with me when it comes to interpreting some of these laws.

In this post I don't see anything about spring loaded knifes.
    http://www.mdshooters.com/showpost.php?p=1695157&postcount=3

In another thread which I can't find at the moment, someone else posted something up that suggested to me that the spring assisted knives fall under switchblades, which I guess makes them illegal. So do spring loaded knives fall under switch blade or not?

In the linked I posted from what I understand switchblades(assuming spring assisted fall under this categorry) are illegal to carry concealed, so you can wear them open, and without the intend to use them dangerously. Is this correct?

If I am correct on this, what happens when state law clashes with company policy? If I carry this openly without the intend to use it as a weapon, but as a tool to open boxes and break zip ties while company policy prohibits weapons where is that road going to take me? I mean, several people including the manager do this, but I'm curious on the technicalities. Does a company have the right to go against state law?

Also, anyone know where I can get high grit wet stones? Preferably not online, but I'm kind of having a hard time finding a store in Moco and may need to resort to online stores.

ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA