Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > Curio and Relic (C&R)

Old February 23rd, 2011, 06:14 PM   #1
ST19AG_WGreymon
Air Force SrA

Greymon's Mauser K98 restoration thread

So here it goes a 1940 Mauser K98K 42 Code Russian Capture. The one I got from Auction Arms in this thread: http://www.mdshooters.com/showthread.php?t=52265

KeepShooting did the transfer for me. I am going to order the front sight hood, screws, cleaning rod, and bayonet at a later date. I first want to get the stock back to it's former glory. That's easier said than done since I have no experience in this area. So I would like you guys to walk me through this, I hear it involves denatured alcohol and linseed oil, correct me if I'm wrong. I'm also wondering about that screw in the last picture above the trigger area, I don't see that in any of the Mausers in the Mauser Picture Thread.

Looking for:
Saiga 12
GSG5

Saiga 7.62 Flat Trunion Bullet Guide F/S PM me
ST19AG_WGreymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2011, 06:21 PM   #2
05dodgedaytona

Very nice.

NRA Member
MSI Member
Maryland Designated Collector
C&R FFL
05dodgedaytona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2011, 06:44 PM   #3
j8064
Garrett Co Hooligan #1

First, it's a nice Mauser. Take your time and learn before you go stripping finishes and fixing stuff. Understand what you're going to do before you do it.

I've recently restored several Turk mausers. Not the same rifle, but very similar. There is much to be learned on stock repair and refinishing on this forum: http://www.surplusrifleforum.com/index.php. Join, read a lot and send "Candyman" a PM there. He's a master at stock repair and refinishes.

You'll also get much advice here. But as I said, take it slow and plan ahead. And we definately want to see pics of your progress.