Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > Rifles

Old November 11th, 2013, 05:25 PM   #1
ihriec

Left eye dominant but right handed

I am left eye dominant but right handed. For handgun shooting this is not a big problem but for rifle shooting I was thinking about teaching myself to shoot left handed. Do you think starting out with a Ruger 10/22 is a good place to start? I have no experience with rifles and would eventually also like to get a shotgun.
ihriec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 05:51 PM   #2
mxrider

While I can't answer your question, I have interest in the responses as I just recently found out my wife is the same way. My oldest son (who has no interest in our hobby) learned he was left eye dominant many years ago in Cub Scouts. Wonder if it's a genetic thing?

All comments posted by me are the express opinion of myself only and do not represent the opinions of any other person or organization unless posted otherwise.
mxrider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2013, 05:54 PM   #3
Mdeng

MSI Executive Member

Starting out with any .22 lr rifle would be a great way to start. A semi auto may be a little more of a challenge since you will have casings ejecting into your face or at a minimum your line of sight.

It is far easier to learn to do something with your left hand versus changing your dominate eye.

Old November 11th, 2013, 05:57 PM   #4
rj1974
eating crayons and paste

Send a message via Yahoo to rj1974
I have the same issue and only shoot right handed with no issues . I just have to close my left eye when shooting a rifle , although with reddots it is not an issue I can still use my right eye with both open . I just worked through it over the years .

I can shoot left as well but prefer right .

Old November 11th, 2013, 05:57 PM   #5
Multifaceted
Jerk of all Trades

My wife is the same way, she learned to shoot rifles left-handed and does rather well.