• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Blair9

Aug 26, 2015
    Ellicott City
    I'm a newbie with HQL in hand looking to purchase a 9mm - deciding between Beretta 92FS (full size or compact), S&W MP9, or SA XDM from a local dealer. Does anyone have any recommendations in the Baltimore/Howard Co. area? Also, I've found the gun at a good price online, but navigating the FFL requirements and locating someone who isn't going to gouge me seems tedious. Any recommendations on a local FFL?

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014
    snip...Also, I've found the gun at a good price online, but navigating the FFL requirements and locating someone who isn't going to gouge me seems tedious.

That's something of a can of worms. The LGS would like to sell you one of their guns rather than do a transfer. Generally you pay more locally.

The local store has to make a profit, they have to pay employees whether the customer buys or just asks a lot of questions and plays with a lot of guns. Their dealer cost is higher than the mail order stores. The MD political climate is against making a profit for gun stores. The HQL, the waiting period, the banned weapons the standard magazine limit all drives business out of state. At the end of the year, they have less opportunity to make the same profit as a store across the border.

Should you go the online route, my advice is to sort out if the FFL will actually do your transfer and what about a fired case up until that law dies in October.

For those that don't think gun stores should make a profit, these people are on your side.
    [YT]07fTsF5BiSM[/YT]

Docster

Ultimate Member
    Jul 19, 2010