• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Eluxman

Mar 21, 2014
    Joppa
    So here's the question keep in mind Im new to reloading

Im loading 308 win its says Maximum Overall Length 2.810 it states it in my book & with my reloading dies
    now I have been shooting factory loads Remington Core Lokt 308
    when I measure these I get 2.730 & its a big difference I checked two boxes to make sure I know the 2.810 is a max length
    I use the factory rounds to set my die for the first time Ive been shooting factory rounds & now Im reloading
    Im shooting a Winchester 308 model 100 semi auto riffle

any advice thanks

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    What load do you plan on developing?

Type/weight of bullet and powder??

Traveler

Lighten up Francis
    Jan 18, 2013
    AA County
    The load data in the reloading book will state powder charge and OAL. Use the numbers on that load. Using a different seating depth will invalidate the data they gave you.
    The usual, start low and work your way up applies.
    Semi auto rifles will likely not cycle with minimum charges.

sgt23preston

USMC LLA. NRA Life Member
    May 19, 2011
    Perry Hall
    Typically different weight bullets are different lengths...

If you look at Lyman's 49th reloading book, 308s run between 2.403 for a 110 grain lead bullet - 2.875 for a 200 grain lead bullet...

That's a range of OAL's of .472 = A LOT...

You need to read the books to determine what to do...

OR go by the information provided by the bullet maker...

The internal pressure (PSI) of the load uses the dimension between the back of the bullet & the inside bottom of the case to determine volume ...

j8064

Garrett Co Hooligan #1
    Feb 23, 2008
    Deep Creek
    Typically different weight bullets are different lengths...