• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sideways

Jan 24, 2010
    Eastern shore of Va.
    I will be inheriting a S&W 27-2 from my late grandfather who registered it in Maryland.
    I am a MD resident that purchased a handgun prior to Oct 1

What do I need to transfer the revolver into my name?

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014
    You may be right, I cannot access the MSP site. I did not know you could mail in the form either. I would defer to Nate's opinion.

Bafflingbs

Gozer the Destroyer
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 16, 2013
    Calvert County
    There is no charge for an inheritance transfer.
    This^^^^^^^ The trooper may not know this though. We gave our trooper a $10 money order at the time of transfer. A few days later, we received it back in the mail with an explanation that we should not have been charged.

trickg

Guns 'n Drums
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 22, 2008
    Glen Burnie
    Don't ask, don't tell.
    These days, this is not a good idea, and especially not if the late grandfather had transfer paperwork for it.

Here's a question: how many of us here (show of hands please) have been asked by anyone, when they were out and about at a range or elsewhere, to show their transfer paperwork for a handgun they had in their possession and were legally using at the time? I never have been, and I'd venture to guess that no one else has either.

With that said, I don't know how good the state is at correlating data when it comes to firearms they have paper on, and the people who owned them who are now deceased. Does the state go looking for the pistol once they put two and two together to make sure that it has been legally transferred, or is that something that isn't done due to a lack of manpower resources?

buckshotu2

Sep 30, 2013