• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ortoch

Feb 14, 2013
    So I am now a resident of the "great" state of Maryland and came here by way of the military. Now that I am a civilian my home of record is not Ohio anymore but I do go home often to my dads farm to shoot. As long as I am not looking to buy a banned firearm in Ohio as a MD resident I am good right? For instance I can call up my Dad's buddy who is an FFL and purchase a Tavor 16" and have it sent to him to do paperwork on and just pick it up when I go home?

Basically I am trying to get around some of the nit picky MD laws (but not buy a banned weapon or anything) so I can have some of the guns MD will ding me on. Is this at all possible?

Thanks any legal beagle advice would be greatly appreciated here as while I dont want to violate any laws I do hope to skirt some by sending a few things out of state if possible.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    IIRC, Tavor is a no-go unless it has an extended brake/flash-hider permanently attached to make the 29.5" OAL length requirement.

ortoch

Feb 14, 2013
    Don't know about the Tavor, but if it's legal to buy in MD, (an HBAR e. g.) it's legal to buy in Ohio.

I used the tavor as an example because its not 29" in overall length so its illegal to buy without permanitely affixing a long flash suppressor on the end to make the overall length 29". So my thought is I buy it in Ohio with an FFL there using my dads farm as my address so that I can buy it out of state without MD getting all hot and bothered that its only 26.6" in overall length and making me mangle it to make it legal.

eruby

Confederate Jew
    MDS Supporter