• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sparrow

Apr 10, 2014
    There's about a 90% chance of moving to MD from freer Mid-atlantic states. I need a job, i'm hoping it will be a short term thing, but all my other locations have fallen through. I'm trying to get straight on what I need to do gun wise. I don't necessarily have all of the items listed below, I just have this for convenience in case anyone else has this thread.

As noted, thanks to the people who added comments here. I'm not a lawyer and no one here is, either.

Got my info from here: https://marylandshallissue.com/share/SafetyActFAQ.pdf

1) Non HBAR AR-15s (flash hider, bayonet lug), owned before 2013: Need to register within 90 days of becoming a resident of MD. Any rifle listed by name, a copy, or passing (failing) a feature test. Exception: Rimfires.

2) HBAR AR-15: Not regulated, but under some debate.

3) Assault pistols (ie tec-9): Need to register within 90 days of becoming a resident of MD. Not allowed in state unless registered before 1994, may that year live in infamy.

4) Assault shotguns (ie saiga): Need to register within 90 days of becoming a resident of MD. Only several models listed, saiga should be GTG.

5) Non-assault pistols: There's a 'de-facto' registration when you purchase a pistol in MD. For out-of-state-ers, its optional to register. All pistols must be registered.

6) rifle magazines > 20 rounds: ok to own Everything OK to own, > 10 rnds illegal to purchase or transfer in MD
    7) pistol magazines >10 rounds: ok to own. Everything OK to own, > 10 rnds illegal to purchase or transfer in MD

8) other rifles and shotguns: they are incapable of being used in a crime as they are not 'evil' enough, so no worries, mate :rolleyes:.

9)Join MSP