• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gungate

NRA Patron Member
    Apr 5, 2012
    Damascus. MD
    If I have a Utah CC out of state permit is there any reason to get a VA CC out of state permit if I am a MD resident for carrying in this general area?

swinokur

In a State of Bliss
    Patriot Picket
    Apr 15, 2009
    Westminster USA
    Mainly to comply with the GFSZA. That requires you to have a permit from the state where the school is located to be in the school zone (1000 feet). Some are of the opinion that if you spend more time in VA having a VA permit may minimize the chance a VA LEO may not acknowledge your UT permit right away. But I've seen no real proof of this.

I happen to have both. The law stipulates "knowingly" so you could use that as a defense if you were to be in violation. It's a Federal statute, not VA.

Attachments

• GFSZA.pdf
      933.2 KB · Views: 107

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    It's a good idea in general to have a second permit in general. Differing renewal dates incase of a brain fade. Keep one in the billfold or neck ID holder, another in the big wallet about yay thick that you take out of backpocket while driving. Redundency in case two particular states get in a urination contest over each other's permits.

esqappellate

President, MSI
    Feb 12, 2012
    It's a good idea in general to have a second permit in general.Differing renewal dates incase of a brain fade. Keep one in the billfold or neck ID holder, another in the big wallet about yay thick that you take out of backpocket while driving. Redundency in case two particular states get in a urination contest over each other's permits.

Not to mention overlapping coverage of states. I have 7 permits (including UT and VA) for these reasons, fall with different expiration dates. Utah is good in Delaware (think beaches), VA is not.