• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ARMERICA

Feb 23, 2016
    Bel Air, MD
    30 yards away. Is a kill shot possible from this angle with an AR15 loaded with 55 grain FMJ xtac. If so, where would you land the shot?
    If not, why not?

My understanding is MD doesn't allow AR15 deer hunting but I'm new to the AR and to hunting (never been), so I'd like to get some perspective should I have a chance when visiting family out of state.

556 AR15 with pinned & welded 14.5in barrel, button rifled 1:9 twist. Red dot w/ 3X magnifier, dont suspect is needed for this shot example.

EDITED NOTE - The location is not part of the question as the photo was taken in a residential area - CLEARLY A NO HUNTING/SHOOTING ZONE. The context of the question is merely concerning the rifle set up (a CQB), ammo, the position and the angle of the deer.
    Sorry guys, I should have originally posted this disclaimer.

20160430_062813_zpslhwudvfp.jpg

Last edited:

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    Maryland does allow AR15 hunting, it just has to develop 1200 foot pounds of muzzle energy, FMJ's are a nogo just about anywhere for hunting big game.
    I personally wouldn't take that shot, im sure it's possible to make a kill from that angle, it definately isn't the best shot to take.
    As to why I would take the shot, look behind the deer, car, fence, so I'm sure there's a house and a street there. Even if that were in the woods I wouldn't try the shot since it's not some wall hanging monster trophy and I'd venture to say she'll move around for a better shot or some more will be along shortly for a better shot.

Archeryrob

Undecided on a great many things
    Mar 7, 2013
    Washington Co. - Fairplay