• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Gmercury2000

Ultimate Member
    Feb 26, 2013
    Gambrills
    So lately I've been contemplating getting into black powder shooting. I'm kind of a civil war buff, so I'd like to get something similar to such. I'd like some opinions on who makes a decent replica of the Enfield 1853 rifle and a nice army style revolver. I have a lot of research to do so please give me any advice I can use. Also if anyone would be willing to take a greenie shooting I would gladly compensate with their favorite brew. ( greenie in black powder ) I have plenty of experience in firearms and safety knowledge.

Thanks!

Melnic

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    HoCo
    It's fun
    Do it.
    One suggestion is to find a beater sidelock percussion cap ML and learn on that.
    Lots to learn
    You can learn from posts here

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    You'll love it. I put it off for years. Then, my BIL gave me a Hawkins and I was off! That was 19 years ago and up until 3 years ago, it(BP) was the only gun I hunted deer with.

tomandjerry00

Ultimate Member
    Apr 12, 2013
    Happy to take you to BCC IWLA if you're near the area. My recommendation is to start with an inline rifle if you're a hunter.

If just for fun, get a Pietta revolver from Cabelas when they are on sale for ~$150-200. I personally have a pietta 1860 new army revolver in .44 and love it. Get powder (I use bp substitute personally), caps, wads, crisco, balls, powder horn and a powder measure. The stuff from the cabelas starter kit works fine.

And don't forget to wash it with lots of soap and water...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BeoBill

Crank in the Third Row
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 3, 2013
    南馬里蘭州鮑伊