• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 8milimeter

RICHARD (dino)
    Feb 15, 2009
    Frederick, Md
    My nephew is in Oregon and is about to exit the Navy. He wants to ship his 30-30 back home to his parents house in MD. Is this a possibility or does it have to go thru a FFL.

8mm

TheRealJimDavis

Jan 28, 2013
    The Burnie
    One party has to be FFL. One owner. Ie I can ship to FFL. They can ship back. But I don't think I can ship to myself. Legally, I probably could, but I don't think fedex allows it. I think. Call fedex. I'm no expert though.

Topher

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 8, 2008
    Fredneck
    I do know that if people can legally own a long gun, then they can ship it via USPS. Handgun NO... Long guns yes.

I will reserve comment about the legality of him receiving it as I am not sure. I would HOPE yes he could, but that is wishful thinking.

ericahls

Aug 31, 2011
    Elkridge MD
    My nephew is in Oregon and is about to exit the Navy. He wants to ship his 30-30 back home to his parents house in MD. Is this a possibility or does it have to go thru a FFL. 8mm

Don't see why not. Springfield armory ships my gun directly to me BUT they can't ship a gun I just bought from them directly to me.

So transporting a gun legally owned by you shouldn't be an issue.

Then again this is MD

TheRealJimDavis

Jan 28, 2013
    The Burnie
    Granted mine was clear as mud, I don't think it's technically illegal. But I don't think FedEx or ups will do it. Cause how do I prove ownership? It opens a can of worms. And again, I'm using quantifier a like think. Hahaha. Not 100% here. As a LGS or FFL. They'd know.

swinokur

In a State of Bliss
    Patriot Picket
    Apr 15, 2009
    Westminster USA
    The only FFL at one end of a shipment requirement is for Fed Ex or UPS. Since he's shipping a long gun, it can go USPS. No FFL required.