• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • erwos

The Hebrew Hammer
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 25, 2009
    Rockville, MD
    I've got an RCBS Uniflow with powder measure stand arriving today that I need to mount to my bench. I figure I'll push it 6-9" left of the press, but am not sure how far back to mount it. I have 20" of depth to work with.

I see a lot of people who mount their powder stands very close to the edge, presumably because it makes getting to the handle easier. On the other hand, it seems like pushing it back by six inches would make it easier to actually deal with the powder coming out. What should I be thinking about here? I'm totally new to reloading, so I don't have instincts for this sort of thing yet.

Attachments

• mancave.jpg
      mancave.jpg
      55.4 KB · Views: 349

trickg

Guns 'n Drums
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 22, 2008
    Glen Burnie
    I've done a similar thing to what my Dad did. I have a vise mounted on my workbench, just left of center. My powder measure is mounted on a piece of 2x4, and when I need to use it, I clamp it into the vise. That allows me to be able to put it up and stow it away when I'm not using it, which clears up bench space.

Jmorrismetal

Sep 27, 2014
    Really doesn't matter a few inches either way. On mine, they generally wind up having the operating handle in about the same spot as the press (front to back) on the right side with a few inches between the two, so there is no nuckle busting.

DSC02166.jpg

Melnic

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    HoCo
    Mine is at the edge cause I only use it for pistol rounds and on a 50 case tray.