• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rouchna

Defund the ATF
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 25, 2009
    Virginia
    I'm in the process of gathering parts to build a suppressed 9mm SBR. So far I have only ordered the lower and Upper. (Tirant 9 is still in jail)

QC10 9mm Colt lower (Vltor-Matching Profile):

Vltor MUR-1s Upper

This is going to be registered as an SBR and be suppressed. Right now I'm debating between 5.5" and 7" barrels. I'm a VA resident so OAL is not an issue.

I have a few questions and would appreciate any feedback.

1. Any true benefit to the 7" over the 5.5"?

2. Handguards: Should I get one that's a bit shorter than the barrel or go longer so that the suppressor can be partially covered.

3. Any recommendations on handguards/rail? (will be running an AAC Tirant 9)

4. Is the building process similar to an AR build? I'm going to be building the whole thing myself. I've built 5.56 ARs but never a 9mm. I'm assuming it's pretty similar with the exception of not needing a gas tube & block. Is this correct?

5. Finally, any recommendation for buffers & bolts?

Sorry for all the questions, but this will be my first 9mm AR build and I want to make sure I do it right from the get go.

Thank you all for your help in advance.

Last edited:

CrawfishStu

Creeper
    Dec 4, 2006
    Crofton
    Bad news boss.

1. ATF won't approve less than 29". So, 5 and 7 are out for barrel options.
    2. Get a handguard that will run over the suppressor.
    3. I love my wilson ff tubes. Do you like round or rails.
    4. You are right on with building it. Just like a .223.
    5. Get a heavy 9mm specific buffer it really helps with felt recoil and I run a CMMG bolt in both of mine and they are fine.
    6. If you get a barrell like an adco it can be threaded for 1/2x28. I have a TiRant45 and you can't get the 1/2x36 piston.