• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hollywoodwvu

Sep 1, 2014
    Kent Island
    So, I was at the Dulles Gun show this weekend and wanted to purchase a S&W M&P15 Semi automatic .22 rifle. I am an Ohio resident in stationed in MD on Military Orders. I brought my Drivers License, Military Orders, and 3 pieces of mail that proved my MD address. Long story short, I was getting a good deal with regards to price and additional accessories, then the dealer said that he couldn't sell me the gun because I have an Ohio DL. Did this dealer realize that I was getting the best of him and backed out of the deal, or was he right?? BTW, he was a VA Dealer.

I've always been able to purchase rifles/shotguns from OH, WV, PA, etc. My handguns have always been purchased from OH just to be safe.

So, here's my question...what guns can I purchase in MD/VA with an Ohio DL? Rifles, Shotguns, Handguns? Help, I'm really confused....

bigalf

Apr 1, 2012
    Fort Meade
    I am military also, you can buy anything you want in MD with orders, and you are exempt from HQL. You can also buy anything you want in OH. And I think you can buy any rifle that is not banned in MD out of state. IANAL. YMMV.

Hollywoodwvu

Sep 1, 2014
    Kent Island
    I am military also, you can buy anything you want in MD with orders, and you are exempt from HQL. You can also buy anything you want in OH. And I think you can buy any rifle that is not banned in MD out of state. IANAL. YMMV.

That's what I thought, I think the guy didn't want to go through with the deal and used a lame a$$ excuse... Thanks for the reply.

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    Basically it was legal transaction both as an Ohio resident and an MD "resident" here in active duty orders.

Lou45

R.I.P.
    Jun 29, 2010