• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • miles71

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Jul 19, 2009
    Belcamp, Md.
    I have posted in the past about a career change. I am presently a teacher, but a recent turn of events has definatly caused me to think of options. I've got a little time with the summer coming, if I do change careers could start something in August.

I feel like I could do something else like in training for a corp. or in a management role. I do have a certain salary expectation but remember I am a teacher so in the grand scheme it prob isn't outlandish.

I know it's kinda a shot in the dark, but thanks for any advice or info.

TD

PapiBarcelona

Ultimate Member
    Jan 1, 2011
    How many years do you have on? Seems ridiculous to nuke at least a 20 year pension/benefits if you plan on leaving the education field totally compared to working in the private sector.

20 years on teacher/collect whatever is offered, move to a state that doesn't collect income tax and start another career while getting your 20 year educator stuff in the bank/health care

miles71

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Jul 19, 2009
    Belcamp, Md.
    18 years and a masters degree, but the last few years have been really tough. Not sure I can do another two but retirement wouldn't be happening till 30 years in.

I would def have to figure out my benefits, etc. at this time if another opportunity came about. I know if I got a job with a employer in the state retirement system my years can transfer for retirement.

TD

PapiBarcelona

Ultimate Member
    Jan 1, 2011
    I think I would attempt to do another 2 but I don't know your situation, or at least look at jobs that my years would transfer.

I know someone who just went back to the private sector, started teaching in 01 and just quit last year.