• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bbarrows32

Golf Guru
    Feb 25, 2013
    Germantown, MD
    Hey guys,

I've been hunting for 10+ years and have harvested many whitetail and never lost one...until yesterday

I got my buck in archery along with two does and an additional bonus buck. Following archery I went out in firearm season with my muzzle-loader hoping to get one more medium sized doe for sweet sticks.

Anyway...long story short I shot the perfect size doe at about 60 yards with a .45 Hornady sst with plastic sleeve. Shot was high but got good blood on both sides for 300 yards. (waited 2 hours after the shot because I knew it was a bit high) Blood stopped and no deer. I switched to the Hornady from .50 Powerbuilt in the off-season because I was getting better groups at the range. Now I feel like the slug never expanded and caused me to lose the deer.

Any thoughts on these Hornady slugs? I am switching back to the Powerbuilt as of now.

jmiller320

Ultimate Member
    Aug 7, 2008
    Havre de Grace
    Deer is proably dead and laying under a deadfall. I lost one one time that I hit good and found it several months later. It went down a small stream and crawled under a overhang. I shot on through the heart with an arrow and it ran over 250 yards in a circle. No blood for the last 50 or so.

bigjohn

Ultimate Member
    Jun 29, 2007
    I would bet that she is dead not far from last blood. I shoot sat also and they don't seem to make them bleed as much as the power belts do

byf43

SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
    Losing any animal is traumatic.

TC "Shockwave" sabot rounds have worked beautifully for me.
    Hit like a sledgehammer.

Go back to where you saw the last blood, and do a search in larger and larger circles.
    I'll wager that the deer is within 30 yards of the last sign.

bbarrows32

Golf Guru
    Feb 25, 2013
    Germantown, MD