• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CLee

Mar 31, 2013
    Pax River area
    Man! Yesterday I bought a Swiss 96/11 Rifle and have it on the way from Simpson Ltd, supposed to arrive on the 2nd. Then just now I was perusing GunBroker just to check prices on Postal Meter M1 Carbines and ended up hitting a buy it now for $880! Damn!

My Dad was a Postal Inspector for over 33 years and a clerk before that. So, I knew I wanted a Postal Meter M1 at some point and this one has a Rock Ola barrel. LOL

So, in my "other life" I'm a seamstress/fiber artist and I have something like 14 sewing machines from an 1897 model 15 Singer up to a 2010 Simplicity Quilter. Most of my older machines are named. I've fallen into that habit now with my C&R guns - my Mosin is Izzy, the Swiss 96/11 will be Regula and I'm trying to decide on the Postal Meter.

I had thought about bestowing the special name of Calamity Jane (a childhood nickname) on the Postal Meter but having the Rock Ola barrel I may have to consider something along the lines of Janis (Joplin) or Pearl for her album. Maybe Peggy Sue. Have to wait and shoot that one I think maybe then I'll figure out the name...

fidelity

piled higher and deeper
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 15, 2012
    Frederick County
    Congratulation on your new affliction ... errr ... hobby. :thumbsup: You'll need to keep a closer eye on that bank account from now on. :)

rseymorejr

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 28, 2011
    Harford County
    Man! Yesterday I bought a Swiss 96/11 Rifle and have it on the way from Simpson Ltd, supposed to arrive on the 2nd. Then just now I was perusing GunBroker just to check prices on Postal Meter M1 Carbines and ended up hitting a buy it now for $880! Damn!