• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Minuteman

BANNED!!!
    I'm a knife rookie, but I've learned a lot mostly through this forum the last few years. I don't consider myself a knife guy, but I've picked up several since tuning in here.

My question is...

I see a lot of lightweight camping/hiking throw in your 'get home bag' or 'bug out bag' knives, many with good sheaths and firestarters (most typically fero rods); but what is the best ultra lightweight knife sharpener to keep with your knife?

I picked up a tiny carbide sharpener for this purpose, but I read it really strips a knife and shouldn't be used very often; mostly only to fix damaged edges. So ceramic, or a stone, or maybe a diamond stone? What's the best to affix to a sheath and always have handy?

Lansky (the sharpener company) calls this category of sharpeners 'pocket' sharpeners: http://lansky.com/index.php/pocket-sharpeners/

This one probably has the most options, but it's a little larger and heavier than I was hoping to find:

df7ebc8bbecb2aac8b4e0c4e1a95f192_f673.jpg

Bob A

όυ φροντισ
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Nov 11, 2009
    If you're desperate, a nice smooth hunk of rock is better than nothing.

LimaVictor

Ultimate Member
    Mar 9, 2012
    Southern MD
    That little GI keychain sharpener has been good to me when out in the field. I alternate between that and the Croc Sticks when I am on the road and don't have my belt sander, sharpmaker or spyderco bench stones. It I am carrying a serrated knife then the croc stick comes along. If a straight edge then the GI will do.

ohen cepel

Ultimate Member
    Feb 2, 2011
    Where they send me.