• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • architect323

Jan 7, 2014
    Greetings everyone.

I am currently a Massachusetts resident, and gun owner; there is a high probability that I could be relocating to Maryland in 2014.

At this time, I own three handguns: Ruger SR22, Sig Sauer p239 9mm, and Sig Sauer 1911 Stainless.

I am a member of the NRA and GOAL (Gun Owner's Action League of Massachusetts).

Obviously, recently enacted gun control laws has made me worry. That said, Massachusetts was previously rated a worse state for gun control than Maryland, but that rating was given before the new laws were in effect.

So, my question to those out there that have a good grasp on the new laws, what kind of issues could I run into upon moving? If I ever want to get a long gun, should I buy one while a resident of Massachusetts?

Thankfully, I can leave my guns in Massachusetts with a family member who is licensed, so I am prepared for a non-instantaneous transition. Trying to get information from the rest of the internet, as well as an inquiry to the MD NRA, have not been helpful.

Any help/advice would be appreciated.

fred333

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Dec 20, 2013
    Ultimately, you outta contact the Maryland State Attorney General's office, which is located within the Maryland State Police HQ in Baltimore ((410)653-4228). Unlike most of Maryland's officials, these guys are generally very well informed and helpful. That said, I'd try to get whatever you're told in writing so you'll have something to present to the uninformed cop or bureaucrat who may confront you.

architect323

Jan 7, 2014
    With regards to 2A issues, yes, I'd rather not move to MD. That said, it's slightly out of my control.

Long gun as in rifle.

NateIU10

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2009
    Southport, CT