• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sprta

Jan 5, 2014
    Eastern Shore
    I am a Maryland resident who owns property in Florida
    I want to purchase in Florida a Glock 17 17 Round Magazine.
    What happens when I register this gun in Maryland:
    Since the magazine was purchased out of state I assume I can legally have it in my possession in Maryland.
    Is my assumption correct or do I need to show a 10 rnd mag when I register the gun?

dontpanic

Ultimate Member
    Jul 7, 2013
    Timonium
    They do not ask to see your mags. If you are a MD resident and buy a glock out of state, it will have to be shipped to a MD FFL. Minus your 17 rd mags.

Better to just buy your mags in FL and your pistol in MD. It will save you shipping and transfer fees.

Either way you will have to have a HQL (handgun qualification license) to take possession of the pistol

Sprta

Jan 5, 2014
    Eastern Shore
    Good point regarding transfer fees and shipping. I have an HQL and a Florida CCW, its just easier to buy a handgun in Fla. and walk out the door the same day.

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    Good point regarding transfer fees and shipping. I have an HQL and a Florida CCW, its just easier to buy a handgun in Fla. and walk out the door the same day.

If you are officially a Maryland resident, as in you have a MD Drivers License not a Florida one, you cannot buy a handgun in Florida and walk out with it. It will have to be shipped to MD before it can be transferred to you.

ras_oscar

Ultimate Member
    Apr 23, 2014
    You can have both a MD and FLA drivers license.

Really? when I moved to MD from MA I had 30 days to establish residency and apply for a MD driver's license'; I had to surrender my MA license to do it. Why is FLA different? Did you have to retake the driving test?

Mike OTDP

Ultimate Member
    Feb 12, 2008