• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rrrrrrkevin

Its comin right for me!
    Jul 18, 2008
    North Beach
    My unit is currently deployed and our sister company as well. Alot of us will return in February and the rest about a month or two after that. We are looking for a deployment commemorative pistol, one of the guys has already started looking and came up with a S&W M&P engraved with the "Marylands Finest" crest on it. I personally do not want this as our pistol and alot of the guys feel the same as me and we are looking at other options.

I am thinking a RIA 1911 or some sort of 1911 that is inexpensive that the gun nuts and everyone who is not a gun nut will enjoy just the same.

Anybody have any recommendations? I have no experience with this type of thing but I do not want the M&P as my commemorative pistol. There is nothing wrong with the pistol, its just not what most of us want.

If any dealers would be interested in talking please PM me or post in this thread. If any members have recommendations or tips please do the same. I know alot of you have done time in the Maryland National Guard, please give me your input and advice as well!

Also if you have any engraving idea's that tie in with OEF or Maryland guard history or any logo's that you think might be appropriate too. Some of the guys have jokingly been writing "Front Towards Enemy" on all of their stuff and that is kinda funny, but I dont know if that would be popular for a deployment pistol... Throw some ideas at me please.

Thank you!

rrrrrrkevin

Its comin right for me!
    Jul 18, 2008
    North Beach
    One of my thoughts was to find just nice looking grips with the crest on them and then just get the pistols as a typical group buy. I dont what would be better, that or getting an engraving on the slide.

JCarlton81

Oct 13, 2012
    Severn