• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JB62

Ultimate Member
    Mar 5, 2013
    Annapolis
    “[For] someone that was medically evaluated, before I would even return it back to someone where we seized the weapon I will ask for a certificate from the registered owner to produce a doctor's certificate indicating that they are not a threat to themselves or the public," Det. Howard Jones said

What doc would sign off on this. I would imagine them signing would bring them in liability wise if something were to ever happen which would make any doc run for the hills and not sign.

A1Uni

Ultimate Member
    Aug 28, 2012
    I find it interesting that the police are being trained to ask if there are guns in the house.

That is nothing new.

I was a police officer for 30 years and we were always trained to inquire about weapons, specifically guns, in domestic situations, and other situations as well.

ScottR

Mark it Zero Dude!!!
    Feb 18, 2013
    Belair MD
    “[For] someone that was medically evaluated, before I would even return it back to someone where we seized the weapon I will ask for a certificate from the registered owner to produce a doctor's certificate indicating that they are not a threat to themselves or the public," Det. Howard Jones said

What doc would sign off on this. I would imagine them signing would bring them in liability wise if something were to ever happen which would make any doc run for the hills and not sign.

I think you're on to something there

ras_oscar

Ultimate Member
    Apr 23, 2014
    That is nothing new.

I was a police officer for 30 years and we were always trained to inquire about weapons, specifically guns, in domestic situations, and other situations as well.

And what is the proper way to decline to answer? I would never lie to a LEO doing his job, but personally would prefer not to tell the truth.