• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • arekeon27

Nov 8, 2014
    Silver Spring MD
    Apologies if a similar question was answered previously but I didn't see anything. I received a ruger .22 revolver from my parents ~4 years ago as a Christmas gift in PA (Im a MD resident but visit PA for the holidays). Always kept it up there but now they are moving and I wanted to add it to my rifle collection here in MD.

Since I owned this handgun before October 2013 will I need to get a MD Handgun permit to bring it down here legally? I imagine the answer is yes but I wanted to tap the collective wisdom of the MD Shooter forums. Thanks.

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014
    A handgun permit is to carry, a handgun license is to buy (abbreviated HQL) You are merely transporting something you owned prior to Oct 2013 and need neither.

If you were not a MD resident before 10/2013 you need to register it.
    If you are not 21 or older (now) you can't legally possess it in MD.

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    Was it transferred at an FFL?
    If YES bring it on down pre 10/1
    If NO need HQL and FFL because its interstate.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    Background question #1 - At the time your parents gave you the revolver , were you a resident of Pa ( ie you and parents being residents of PA ) ? If not the initial transfer to you needs to go through an FFL in Md.

Subscenario #1 - You were Pa resident at time of gift , and then became Md resident before 10/01/13 - you are fine with on action required.

Subscenario #2 - You were Pa resident at time of gift , but become a Md resident after 10/01/13 , you need to register it within 30days of becoming Md resident. HQL not required.